Have Your Rice and Eat It, Too
There’s a lot of confusion out there about what grains are considered to be gluten-free. A question that I commonly get from my patients with celiac disease is, “Can I eat rice?”
I want to clear up this confusion by providing you with a list of safe gluten-free grains.
Whole grain brown rice (preferable to white rice due to higher fiber content, vitamins and minerals)
Amaranth – this used to be a staple food of the Aztecs!
Flours made from nuts, beans and seeds
So yes, feel free to eat rice as part of your gluten-free diet.
Try not to stick with a single grain source as your new wheat substitute. Instead, rotate these new grains into your diet for yummy meals full of nutritional benefit.